## **ALA Award Honorees**

## in comic, graphic novel, or sequential art format

Compiled by Tracy Edmunds, M.A

# 2016

## **Newberry Honor Book**

Rollergirl, by Victoria Jamieson

Alex Award for adult books that appeal to teen audiences Sacred Heart, by Liz Suburbia

Mildred L. Batchelder Honor Book Written and Drawn by Henrietta, by Liniers

### **Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Honor** Book

Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina & New Orleans, by Don Brown

# 2015

## **Newberry Honor Book**

El Deafo, by Cece Bell

#### Caldecott Honor Book & Printz Honor Book

This One Summer, by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki

## Mildred L. Batchelder Honor Book

Hidden: A Child's Story of the Holocaust, by Loic Dauvillier, Mark Lizano, and Greg Salsedo

#### **Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book**

Waiting is Not Easy!, by Mo Willems

# 2014

## Winner of the Newberry Medal

Flora & Ulvsses: The Illuminated Adventures. by Kate DiCamillo and K. G. Campbell

#### **Caldecott Honor Book**

Mr. Wuffles, by David Wiesner

#### **King Author Honor Book**

March: Book One. by Congressman John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell

**Alex Award** for the ten best adult books that appeal to teen audiences Relish, by Lucy Knisley

### **Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award**

Look Up! Bird-Watching in Your Own Backyard, by Annette LeBlanc Cate

#### **Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Books**

Ball, by Mary Sullivan A Big Guy Took My Ball, by Mo Willems

#### **Pura Belpre (Illustrator) Award**

Nino Wrestles the World, by Yuyi Morales

## 2013

#### **Caldecott Honor Book**

Creepy Carrots by Peter Brown

**Alex Award** for the ten best adult books that appeal to teen audiences My Friend Dahmer, by Derf Backderf

#### Mildred L. Batchelder Honor Book

A Game for Swallows: To Die, to Leave, to

Return by Zeina Abirached

## **Stonewall Honor Book**

Drama, by Raina Telgemeier

### Winner of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Up, Tall and High! by Ethan Long

# **Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book**

Let's Go for a Drive! by Mo Willems



## **Eisner Award Winners – Youth Categories**

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are considered the "Oscars" of comics. Nominees are chosen by a blueribbon committee of judges, and the winners are chosen by professionals in the comics industry. Started in 1988, the awards are named for Will Eisner, the legendary creator of "The Spirit" and giant of the graphic novel. The Eisner Award category designations for youth have changed a few times over the years. Here are the winners in all of the various youth categories.

## **Best Title for Younger Readers/Publication for a Younger Audience**

The Batman and Robin Adventures, by Paul Dini, Ty Templeton, & Rick Burchett (DC) 1996

Leave It to Chance, James Robinson and Paul Smith (Homage) 1997

Batman & Robin Adventures, Ty Templeton, Brandon Kruse, Rick Burchett, and others (DC) 1998

Batman: The Gotham Adventures, by Ty Templeton, Rick Burchett, and Terry Beatty (DC) 1999

Simpsons Comics, by various (Bongo) 2000

Scary Godmother: The Boo Flu, by Jill Thompson (Sirius) 2001

Herobear and the Kid, by Mike Kunkel (Astonish) 2002, 2003

Walt Disney's Uncle Scrooge, by various (Gemstone) 2004

Plastic Man, by Kyle Baker and Scott Morse (DC) 2005

Owly: Flying Lessons, by Andy Runton (Top Shelf) 2006

Gumby, by Bob Burden and Rick Geary (Wildcard Ink) 2007

Mouse Guard: Fall 1152 and Mouse Guard: Winter 1152, by David Petersen (Archaia) 2008

Tiny Titans, by Art Baltazar and Franco Aureliani (DC) 2009

**The Wonderful Wizard of Oz** hardcover, by L. Frank Baum, Eric Shanower, and Skottie Young (Marvel) 2010

Tiny Titans, by Art Baltazar and Franco Aureliani (DC) 2011

*Dragon Puncher Island*, by James Kochalka (Top Shelf) 2012

Snarked, by Roger Langridge (kaboom!) 2012

Babymouse for President, by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm (Random House) 2013

Adventure Time, by Ryan North, Shelli Paroline, & Braden Lamb (kaboom!) 2013

Itty Bitty Hellboy, by Art Baltazar and Franco (Dark Horse) 2014

The Adventures of Superhero Girl, by Faith Erin Hicks (Dark Horse) 2014

The Zoo Box, by Ariel Cohn & Aron Nels Steinke (First Second) 2015

El Deafo, by Cece Bell (Amulet/Abrams) 2015

#### **Best Publication for Teens/Tweens/Young Adults**

Laika, by Nick Abadzis (First Second) 2008

Beasts of Burden, by Evan Dorkin and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse) 2010

Smile, by Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic/Graphix) 2011

Anya's Ghost, by Vera Brosgol (First Second) 2012

Coraline, by Neil Gaiman, adapted by P. Craig Russell (HarperCollins Children's Books) 2009

A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeleine L'Engle, adapted by Hope Larson (FSG) 2013

Battling Boy, by Paul Pope (First Second) 2014

*Lumberjanes*, by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Noelle Stevenson, & Brooke A. Allen (BOOM! Box) 2015

